Creating MyGlue groups and users

This article covers how to provision MyGlue groups and user accounts from IT Glue.


  • Read this introduction to MyGlue permissions using roles and groups.
  • Moving an existing user from IT Glue to MyGlue? See this article.
  • We recommend that an Administrator be responsible for deploying new MyGlue accounts, though most tasks can also be performed by a Manager who has access to all organizations.


Create your MyGlue groups

  1. Open IT Glue and click Account from the top navigation bar.
  2. Click Groups from the sidebar.


  3. Click the + New button in the top-right corner.


  4. On the next screen, enter the group's name and provide a description.


  5. Skip the Members section (lower left) for now. Group membership can also be added from the Create Users screen, as explained further blow.
  6. In the Organization Access section (lower right), search for and select the organizations you want the members of the group to have access to. Typically, you will have just one organization to choose from.
  7. If you scroll down the page, you will have the option of selecting a checkbox to Grant access to unrestricted ("All IT Glue Users") IT glue data within the allowed organizations.


  8. In the Deny Asset Type Access section, choose the asset types that members of this group should be denied access to by unchecking one or more boxes.


  9. Click the Save button to create the group. 

Invite people to your MyGlue account 

  1. Open IT Glue and click Account from the top navigation bar.
  2. Click Users from the sidebar.


  3. Click the MyGlue tab.


  4. Click the + New button in the top-right corner.


  5. In the Users section (top left), enter the user's preferred email address and then click on the plus sign to add it. 

    To invite more than one user, enter as many email addresses as you want, clicking the plus sign or pressing enter after each one.


  6. Select the MyGlue Account the user will belong to.


  7. Choose a role to define the actions the user is permitted to perform: Editor, Creator, or Lite
  8. Select the MyGlue groups the user will be a member of and the organizations they can access.
  9. Click Save.

After you click Save, the user will get an email invitation with a pre-loaded invitation message. If an invitation link expires, you can resend the invitation.

The new user will be listed in the Account > Users > MyGlue list by email address. Users with pending invitations display "Invited User" as their username. The resend-invitation.png (Resend Invitation icon) is also shown. When the user accepts the invitation, "Invited User" is replaced with the user's name and the Resend Invitation icon disappears.

Removing a MyGlue user

  1. Navigate to Account > Users > MyGlue.
  2. Click Delete (trash can icon) in the list view.

After you click Delete, the user will not be able to sign in.

Important. When assets are no longer relevant to any of your MyGlue users, they are automatically deleted. This means that when you delete MyGlue users, you are also deleting their personal passwords and other MyGlue assets that were not shared with anyone else. 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful