Viewing the passwords accessed and at risk report

In this article, you'll learn how to view a report that lists all passwords that a specified user has accessed in IT Glue since the beginning of their account.

This report covers the following actions:

  • Password shown
  • Password created
  • Password updated
  • Password imported*
  • Password exported*

* Imported or exported and downloaded on or after March 11, 2017 only.

Prerequisites

  • You must have Administrator level access to run the report. 

Instructions

Running the report 

  1. Click Global from the top navigation bar.
  2. Click Reports from the sidebar.
  3. Click on Passwords.
  4. Enter the name of a user to report on and then click Generate.

Once the report is created, a link to the report can be shared with other users, if desired.

Viewing all passwords that have been accessed

Clicking the All Accessed tab opens a report that lists out all passwords accessed by the specified user. It includes entries where they created, modified, imported, or exported the password, as well as those passwords where the user clicked on the show password icon (eye icon). At-risk passwords are shown in red.

Example: The All Accessed tab lists all passwords that have ever been accessed by the user

password_report_all_access.png

The scope of the report includes entries for general and embedded passwords, plus any custom password fields in flexible assets.

Viewing only passwords that are at risk

An at-risk password refers to a password that has not been changed since the specified user last accessed it.

Clicking the the At Risk tab opens an at-risk password list, which is meant for those times when you need to immediately protect your customers’ passwords, such as when an employee leaves. In this situation, you will want to see a list of just the at-risk passwords separately from other passwords the user has accessed.

Example: The At Risk tab lists all passwords that are identified as at risk

password_report_at_risk.png

Sharing the report link

An Administrator can share the report URL with other team members to make sure the changes are done quickly. Use the Copy URL button in the top of the screen to copy and share the report URL.

Only users that have a Manager, Editor, Creator, or Read-Only role will be able to access the report using the shared link. Note: The report will not display a complete list if the person viewing it doesn't have access to all the same passwords. Administrators will always see the complete report, however.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 5 found this helpful