Adding and deleting organizations

These instructions will help you add organizations that need to be manually entered in IT Glue, or delete organizations that you no longer need, such as when a client is no longer a client.

Prerequisites

  • Users with a Creator role and above can add organizations.
  • Deleting organizations requires an Editor or above role.
  • Before deleting an organization, make sure there is a recent account backup or export the data now to CSV.

Instructions

Adding an organization

IT Glue has a two-way integration with ConnectWise and Autotask. This means you can add an organization from within IT Glue to also add the organization to your PSA.

If you are only one-way syncing with your PSA, you should add the organization to your PSA instead. It will be brought over in the next data load if its type and status are set to sync. For more information, see Syncing between IT Glue and PSAs overview.

If you are two-way syncing, the workflow has three simple steps:

  1. Verify that the organization has not already been entered in the system. Use the search tool on the main Organizations page.
  2. From Organizations, click + New.

    new_button.png

  3. Fill in the fields. The name should be entered exactly as it appears in any systems you integrate with to make sure the organization will map to an organization that you may have already entered in an external data source that's syncing with IT Glue or your PSA.
  4. When you're done, click Save.

After you save it, the same organization will be immediately added to your PSA if the organization type and status are ones that are set to sync.

Adding a sub-organization

For more information, see Working with sub-organizations.

To manually create a sub-organization from IT Glue, follow these steps:

  1. Follow the instructions above to create a new organization.
  2. From the Parent Organization drop-down menu, choose the associated parent organization.

    Screen_Shot_2017-05-25_at_12.59.43_PM.png

  3. Click Save.

After that's done, the same organization will be added to your PSA if the organization type and status are set to sync. Note that you may have to update your PSA to reflect the child/parent relationship later.

Deleting an organization

In IT Glue, you have two different ways to delete your organizations: individually or in bulk. The instructions below will show you how to delete a single organization. For instructions on bulk deleting operations, see Deleting data from your account instead.

  1. Click Organizations from the top navigation bar.
  2. If necessary, search for the organization.
  3. Click the organization.
  4. Click the Edit button (top right).
  5. Scroll to the bottom and look for the PSA logo.
    • If it's a syncing organization, click Disable sync and then click Delete Organization.
    • If it's not a syncing organization, simply click Delete Organization.
  6. Confirm the deletion and that’s it. Your PSA data will be untouched.

After you confirm the action, the organization and all associated data (configurations, documents, passwords, contacts, flexible assets) will be deleted. Any sub-organizations are also deleted. It may take a few moments for the action to complete.

On syncing organizations, the Delete Organization action is grayed out until you disable sync

Deleting_organnization.png 

As a handy tip, if you delete a syncing organization on the PSA side, it will be orphaned in IT Glue after the next sync. Then, it's just a matter of finding and deleting the orphan inside of your IT Glue account. Managers and Administrators can find all the orphans listed together on the Manage Data screen.
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 6 found this helpful