How do I copy data?

This article explains how to copy assets to save time when documenting a new client. For instructions on how to copy documents, refer to Quick guide for documents instead.

As an example of how you might use this feature, suppose you want to create boilerplate password templates that you can copy from one organization to another. You could create a password as a template somewhere in your account and copy it as needed. This ensures that all information, other than the unique username and password, is the same from client to client. The benefit of consistency is that it makes it faster and easier to search, filter, and sort data.

Some other ways you might use this feature:

  • You accidentally create a duplicate organization. If there is not a lot of data to move, you could just copy the data from one organization into the other, and then delete the source organization.
  • You're working with a client who wants to split into two separate companies. You can create a new organization and then copy the relevant assets into the new organization before deleting them out of the source organization.
Keep in mind that the original asset's revision history, attachments, related items, and embedded passwords are not copied. Only data from the asset itself will be copied.

By default, the new asset will have the same security permissions as the original asset. Note: If someone could see the original asset but can't see the new asset, check that they have access to the containing organization.

Prerequisites

  • You need a Creator role or above to copy data.

Instructions

  1. Open the asset you want to copy.
  2. Click (Copy button) to open the copy dialog box.

    Copy_Password.png

  3. To copy to a different organization, click Select a different organization, and then search for and choose the target organization by typing the first few letters of its name. Otherwise, skip this step to copy to the current organization.
  4. Click Copy. After the asset is copied, you're taken to the new asset in edit mode.
  5. If you copied a password, you can do one of the following:
    • To enter a new password, enter it into the Password field.
    • To keep the password from the original asset, leave the Password field blank. Note: The existing password is not visible when you are in edit mode. To view the password, click Cancel to escape edit mode.
  6. Click Save.

 

Notes on copying PSA data

If you copied something that is syncing with your PSA, the copied asset will not sync unless it's edited and saved. Saving the copied asset will trigger the synchronization rule to run. However, if your goal is to move data, we typically suggest that for syncing data you make all changes in your PSA first. IT Glue will mirror these changes after the next full sync. If there is anything left to move, you could copy it after the full sync has completed and then delete the original. For details about the sync logic, see Syncing between IT Glue and PSAs overview.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful