Quick guide for documents

The steps below will walk you through a few of the most common tasks when working with documents. We created these pointers to help you learn the basics so you can get going.

Creating documents

  1. Go to the organization you want to create a new document in.
  2. Click Documents from the sidebar.
  3. If using folders, open the folder that you want to create a new document in. By default, new documents are saved in the folder you created them in.
  4. Click on the +New button in the top-right corner of the screen. This will create and then immediately open a new document.
  5. Give the document a name that will be easily searchable (e.g. Installing and configuring a Cisco router).
  6. Create the document content, and then click Publish to publish your work.

Note that all changes are auto-saved approximately every 20 seconds. Even if you forget to publish and then log out of your account, your changes will still be there in edit mode when you return. 

Using content blocks

At the top of the page, you will see the following options representing the four different content blocks:

Heading

Used to create a heading for a new high-level section, for example, a prerequisites section that appears near the top of the document but that is separate from the instructions.

Text

Used to add free-form text, which can be fully formatted and include rich media, such as embedded videos, lists, tables, inline images, and various fonts.

Step

Numbered steps allow you to create a set of step-by-step instructions with minimal effort. Each Step has special features such as individual screenshots per step as well as estimated time to complete the step with a total "roll-up" at the bottom of the published document.

Note: If you prefer to add your own bulleted/numbered list, add a Text content block instead of a Step.

Gallery

It can be useful to have a content block that is specifically designed for images. When the images are clicked, they'll open in a lightbox layer that fills the screen, and dims out the rest of the screen. The lightbox layer is perfect for larger images and images with lots of details.

For other options for adding images, see Creating documents with inline images.

Don't forget about formatting your text! To learn how all the formatting options work, see A quick tour of editing.

 

Dragging and dropping

To reorder your document, content blocks can be dragged vertically within the document. Click and hold the top edge of the content block and move it wherever you'd like it to go. In a document that uses the Step content block, the numbers are updated automatically when you reorder steps.

Inserting a content block 

New content blocks can be inserted between two content blocks by clicking the more (three dots) icon. 

Documents-insert-content-block.png

 

Using the @relate feature 

Adding links to your documents makes them more dynamic and gives your team more options for navigating between documents or to places on the web. 

IT Glue has two kinds of links you can create, and it’s important to know the difference:

@relate links — These are links that let the reader jump from your document to another place in IT Glue. You don’t have to copy and paste URLs. Just type the @ symbol anywhere in your text, and then type a document title or asset name. You’ll instantly get a drop-down list of possible matches. Select the document or asset you want to link to. This saves you a few steps when adding links. It's also handy that when @relating a document or asset, a new Related Items entry is created at the same time.

mentions.gif

When you select the document or asset, its name will appear as a blue link. Note: If someone changes the name of the document or asset later on, the link text will not change.

URL-type links — These links let the reader jump from your document to a place on the web. You start off by highlighting the text that you want to turn into a link. Doing this opens a context menu with an option for inserting a link by typing or pasting the website URL.

Making the document public (anyone with the link can access)

Public documents are a great way to cut down emails and the inefficiencies associated with email. Instead of sending an email, you can share the link to the document with anyone who needs it, such as clients and others who may not be authenticated. This is a useful feature for sharing information with clients, for example, instructions for connecting to the office VPN.

Users with a Manager or Administrator role can perform the following steps:

  1. Open the desired document, and click Edit.
  2. Select the Make This Document Public checkbox. The change takes effect immediately.

After that's done, anyone who has the link can view the content of the document, the attachments (if any), and any public sub-docs. But the document will not be found by Google or indexed.

When making a document public, remember to remove any @relate links. If you forget, unauthenticated users may click the link and be treated to an error message.

 

Sharing the document URL

After you publish a document, you may want your team to take a look at your document or allow them to share a link to a public document with clients. From the document listing, you can hover over the document to use the Copy to clipboard command.



Copying, moving, and deleting documents

To copy, move, or delete one or more documents, use the actions in the "Select All" button located under the search box and above your documents, as shown here:

new-list-view-documents-bulk-actions.gif


Avoiding accidental document deletions

Some user roles do not allow the user to delete data. For more information, see our roles and permissions article.

However, we do all we can to ensure that users do not accidentally delete important data. To delete a folder, you must first remove or delete everything inside of it. That means users can't accidentally delete folders that contain hidden items (only visible to users with the required access).

If a document is accidentally deleted, an Administrator can restore it. See How do I restore an item deleted by accident? 
 

Working collaboratively

Keep in mind that you will only see a revision history once you start publishing. Therefore, if you are making major revisions or working with other collaborators, make sure you publish the document. A full change history will help you in case you need to revert back to an earlier version. For information on recovering earlier versions of a document, see our Revisions to core and flexible assets article. 

Also note that if you edit a document that is still being edited, IT Glue will display a message informing you that you are editing an outdated page and giving you the option to load the more up-to-date version or resume editing your current draft.

resume_editing.png

Was this article helpful?
23 out of 26 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us