Adding and deleting organizations

Each IT Glue account includes a single default organization that is defined during setup. Additional organizations are created during the initial setup and integration with your PSA or RMM.

These instructions will help you add organizations manually, and also show you the steps to delete organizations that you no longer need, such as when a client is no longer a client.

Have a brand new account? Check out Six steps to a successful setup to get it set up.

Prerequisites

Instructions

Adding an organization

IT Glue has two-way sync capability with ConnectWise and Autotask. With two-way syncing enabled, you can add an organization from within IT Glue and we also add the organization to your PSA.

If you are two-way syncing, the procedure for creating new organizations has these simple steps:

  1. Verify that the organization has not already been entered in the system. Use the search tool on the main Organizations page.
  2. From Organizations, click + New.

    new_button.png

  3. Fill in the fields. The name should be entered exactly as it appears in any systems you integrate with to make sure the organization will map to an organization that you may have already entered in an external data source that's syncing with IT Glue or your PSA.
  4. When you're done, click Save.

After you save it, the same organization is immediately added to your PSA if the organization type and status are ones that are set to sync.

Note: If you are one-way syncing with your PSA, you should add the organization to your PSA instead. It will be brought over in the next data load if its type and status are set to sync. For more information, see Syncing between IT Glue and PSAs overview.

Adding a sub-organization

For answers to frequently asked questions, see Working with sub-organizations.

To manually create a sub-organization from IT Glue, follow these steps:

  1. Follow the instructions above to create a new organization.
  2. From the Parent Organization drop-down menu, choose the associated parent organization.

    parent-organization.png

  3. Click Save.

After that's done, the same organization is added to your PSA if the organization type and status are set to sync. Note that you may have to update your PSA to reflect the child/parent relationship later.

Deleting an organization

In IT Glue, you have two different ways to delete your organizations: individually or in bulk. The instructions below show you how to delete a single organization. For instructions on bulk deleting operations, see Deleting data from your account instead.

  1. Click Organizations from the top navigation bar.
  2. Click the name of the organization to open it.
  3. Click the Edit button (top right).
  4. Scroll to the bottom and look for the PSA logo.
    • If it's a syncing organization, click Disable sync and then click Delete Organization.
    • If it's not a syncing organization, simply click Delete Organization.
  5. Confirm the deletion and that’s it. Your PSA data will be untouched.

After you confirm the action, the organization and all associated data (configurations, documents, passwords, contacts, flexible assets) are deleted. Any sub-organizations are also deleted. It may take a few moments for the action to complete.

On syncing organizations, the Delete Organization action is grayed out until you disable sync

Delete_organization.png 

As a handy tip, if you delete a syncing organization on the PSA side, it will be orphaned in IT Glue after the next sync. Then, it's just a matter of finding and deleting the orphan inside of your IT Glue account. Managers and Administrators can find all the orphans listed together on the Manage Data screen.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful