MyGlue Scenario 5 - Self-Service

If you'd like to know more on how to deploy MyGlue, please view MyGlue Deployment Guide.

Scenario Purpose 

Deploy a MyGlue account as a value-added service for a client so you can share documents and SOPs you have documented in IT Glue through MyGlue so the clients are empowered to solve simple IT issues themselves.

Scenario

Many simple IT issues can oftentimes be handled on a self-service basis where clients can access always up-to-date SOPs that you have already documented in IT Glue. Now your clients can simply access them through MyGlue. With this, clients are empowered to solve simple and repetitive issues on their own rather than waiting in a queue for IT support. For example, it can consist of a simple set of instructions such as how to troubleshoot a printer or how to configure work email on their mobile phones.

MyGlue Deployment Steps

  1. Navigate to Account > MyGlue and click + New.

    MyGlue___IT_Glue.png

    If you have never set up a MyGlue account before, you will see the screenshot below when you click MyGlue from the sidebar.


    Screen_Shot_2018-06-06_at_11.26.08_AM.png

  2. If this is the first MyGlue account you are setting up, you will be prompted to enter support information. If not, please skip this step.


    Screen_Shot_2018-06-06_at_11.29.50_AM.png

    Screen_Shot_2018-06-06_at_11.30.03_AM.png

  3. In the New Account page, complete the following:
    1. Enter a name for the new MyGlue account.
    2. Choose the existing IT Glue Organizations you’d like to assign.
    3. If you want to enforce MFA for the account, check Require MFA for access to this MyGlue account. Refer to our KB article here for details on prerequisites needed for this setting.
    4. Select a global default security permission for the account. There are three options:
      1. All MyGlue users with access to the organization have access by default - Passwords created by MyGlue users will be visible to all other MyGlue users with access to the same organization. This ensures that a low-risk and widely used password is easily accessible.
      2. Only the creator has access by default - Passwords created by MyGlue users are visible only to that user. This ensures that a password is not exposed to an entire group or organization upon creation.
      3. Specific groups and/or users with access to the organization can access by default - Passwords created by MyGlue users will be automatically shared to specifically chosen MyGlue groups/users or IT Glue groups. This means that MyGlue users don’t need to remember to set those permissions each time they create a password. The password creator will still have access.
    5. Click Save.


      New_Account___IT_Glue.png

  4. Create a security group for this MyGlue account. Enter a name and an optional description for the group, and add all MyGlue users who should have access to the group. If you do not yet have MyGlue users in IT Glue, you can invite them in the next screen. You can also add additional organizations here.


    Screen_Shot_2019-01-22_at_12.36.09_PM.png

  5. Uncheck Grant access to unrestricted ("All IT Glue Users") IT Glue data within the allowed Organizations to restrict asset access to the MyGlue Users / Groups you specify.


    Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_2.24.50_PM.png

  6. All asset types are checked to deny access by default. Uncheck Documents and click Save.


    Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_1.38.24_PM.png

  7. Uncheck the organization's contacts you do not want to invite to MyGlue and click Next.


    Screen_Shot_2019-01-22_at_2.28.39_PM.png

  8. Set the appropriate permissions for the invited users. Our MyGlue user roles, groups, and permissions KB article will help you decide which role to give the users. Click Save.


    Screen_Shot_2019-01-22_at_2.31.36_PM.png

Share Documents and SOPs with MyGlue users

You may have multiple Documents and SOPs documented for your client, but you only want to share certain assets with them to allow them to self-serve. Let's assume you want to share 'How to Connect Personal Devices to WiFi' and 'How to Request VPN Access' in the screenshot below with your client user so they can self serve on these topics.

Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_1.59.36_PM.png

You could do this by editing each document and granting access to the MyGlue group you created when you deployed the MyGlue account.

Screen_Shot_2019-03-27_at_4.56.00_PM.png

Alternatively, you could create a group and drag the documents into it.

Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_3.01.41_PM.png

  1. To assign permissions to the group, check the box next to Client Self Serve, click the arrow next to the checkbox column heading, and choose Security.


    Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_3.24.07_PM.png

  2. Add the MyGlue group or users you want to give access to and click Save.


    Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_3.24.59_PM.png

Note: When you apply permissions to folders, any documents already in the folder will inherit permissions set. Any new documents you put in the folder will not inherit permissions. To have new folder documents inherit permissions, you will need to repeat the two steps above, setting the permissions back to All Users and then changing them back to the specific groups you want to have access.

Your MyGlue users will only see Documents in their sidebar as well as the specific documents you have given them access to.

Screen_Shot_2019-03-21_at_3.47.53_PM.png

MyGlue users managing their own permissions

MyGlue users can also self-manage their security permissions. Your clients are able to create, edit, and update their own groups and security permissions. By self-servicing these actions, your IT admin can focus instead on delivering higher, more complex-level services for your clients.

Users can easily move or delete multiple passwords in bulk within an organization, saving them time from having to edit password permissions individually.

  1. From any MyGlue organization, click Passwords in the left sidebar.
  2. Then, select the passwords to be bulk updated, click the down arrow next to the checkbox column heading, and click Security.


    Passwords___MyGlue.png

  3. Select either "All MyGlue Users..." or "Add or remove Groups/Users".
    1. If you select "All MyGlue Users...", review Step 5
    2. If you select "Add or remove Groups/Users", use the filter fields to add and review users and groups as needed.
      Note: This option will only work if individual passwords are selected. Users will not have an option to manage folder security here.


      Passwords___MyGlue-2-2.png

  4. After all the selections have been made for each Group and User field, click Save.
  5. A red banner will appear allowing you to confirm your changes. Please ensure the changes you make are intended as the operations cannot be undone.


    MyGlue_Scenario_5_-_Self-Service_-_REVISION_-_Google_Docs.png

Once complete, a green confirmation banner will appear. Security permission changes are applied in the background and may take a while depending on the number of passwords being modified.

For more details on the Bulk Security feature, please visit our Bulk Security for Passwords KB article.

Please also see the below scenarios for other ways you can utilize MyGlue.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us